ATESOL Council

The business of the association is conducted by a Council elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held in March each year. All ATESOL NSW financial members are welcome to stand for Council. This commitment involves attending up to eight meetings per year and volunteering to assist with ATESOL NSW events, action research and advocacy initiatives throughout the year.

Council Meetings for 2021:

  • Meeting 1 – 5 February
  • ATESOL NSW AGM – 12 March
  • Meeting 2 – 12 March
  • Meeting 3 – 26 April
  • Meeting 4 – 7 June
  • Meeting 5 – 2 August
  • Meeting 6 – 11 October
  • ATESOL NSW AGM – 22 November
  • Meeting 7 – 22 November

All Council meetings take place on a Tuesday at 7.00pm via Zoom.

If you are a financial member and would like to attend our next meeting or add any matters for discussion to the meeting agenda, please email:

Council Members for 2022:

Executive Committee

Cindy Valdez-Adams

Vice President
Margaret Turnbull


Caitlin Espinoza

Janet Freeman

Other Council Roles

ACTA Councillors
Cindy Valdez-Adams, Margaret Turnbull,
Michael Michell (Immediate Past President)

MEAG Representative
Michael Michell

Ethnic Affairs Representative
Janet Freeman

Newsletter Editors
Glenice Aiken, Marina Pearce


Professional Learning Coordinator
Kathy Rushton

Social Media & Website
Caitlin Espinoza & Cindy Valdez-Adams

Secondary EAL/D Matters
Margaret Wajs

Other Councillors
Robyn Johnson, Bess Wassman,
Gillian Pennington

Lets get started

Welcome to our website. Our Association of Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages

jOIN us

Scroll to Top